My Skincare Routine

In a bid to rejuvenate and repair my repeatedly problematic skin, I’ve decided to oppose passivity and wage a war against bad skincare routines. Over the past few months I have been refining my range of products and skincare tactics to achieve the best possible outcome. Whilst it is an ongoing journey of testing new products and adjusting my routine, I have noticed a visible improvement.

My regime may seem obsessive and time-consuming, but it takes under 10 minutes morning and night. Although I tend to spend a little more on skincare than I do makeup, all of these products are under £20.

AM

AM

Cleanse – The Body Shop Camomile Cleansing Oil (£11) – I cleanse once with this product by applying it onto a dry face, massaging it in and washing it off with warm water and a flannel. A lot of people skip a morning cleanse but I think it’s important to remove oil and sweat from your sleep before moisturising and applying makeup – otherwise you’re just spreading around dirt. Nice.

Toner – Pixi Glow Tonic (£18) – This is an amazing product. It’s a gentle acid exfoliator with 5% glycolic acid. The idea of an acid toner sounds scary as hell right? But trust me, it’s so much milder than many harsh scrubs and does its job really well (just check out the reviews on the website). My skin feels so much smoother and my other products apply a lot better after using this. I apply a couple of pumps onto a cotton pad and wipe it on my face and neck, paying special attention to problem areas and breakouts.

Spritz Toner – Topop Pure Rose Petals Water (£2.67) – A lot of people find this step unnecessary, but I believe in layering as much hydration and moisture as possible. You could go for a pricier spray with a more complex ingredients list, but I love a simple rose water transferred into a spray bottle. This product is mega cheap (so great for those on a budget), smells delicious and can be used throughout the day to rehydrate.

Moisturiser – The Body Shop Vitamin E Moisture Cream (£12) – A crucial step that doesn’t really need explaining. This product is lightweight, enduring and lovely to apply. No mineral oils in sight.

SPF – La Roche-Posay Anthelios Comfort Cream SPF50+ (£16.50) – It scares me how many people skip this step – it is so important to protect your skin from UVB and UVA, especially in the summer months. Obviously, I’ll miss this step if I’m staying indoors but I will always apply sun protection creams to my face before putting on my makeup. I’m going to do a more in depth post on sun protection later, just so I can frighten you all into protecting your precious skin!

PM

PM

First Cleanse – The Body Shop Camomile Cleansing Oil – Applied as stated in the morning cleanse. This product destroys makeup and is easily washed off with little oily residue. Yup – you can still use this if you have an oily skin type and/or breakout prone skin.

Second Cleanse – Soap & Glory The Ultimelt Hot Cloth Cleanser (£10) or Nature’s Best Gentle Cleansing Lotion (£6.70) – Another unnecessary step, right? Wrong, so wrong. Makeup and SPF are stubborn, they’re made to last. An additional cleanse will assure that you’ve removed all unwanted product and have a lovely clean base for the moisturisers. I like to use cream cleansers for this stage because they’re calming, remove residue oil and are easily used. I apply and remove these cleansers as I do with the oil.

Moisturiser – The Body Shop Vitamin E Night Cream (£13) – I really would recommend using a night cream rather than a general moisturiser in your PM routine, so you can make the most out of a long period of rejuvenation for your skin. If you don’t want to buy an extra product just make sure your moisturiser doesn’t contain SPF, you don’t need that unnecessary, pore-clogging ingredient when you’re sleeping at night – it could cause breakouts.

Serum – The Body Shop Vitamin E Overnight Serum-in-Oil (£15) – Of course a step that many would probably choose to leave out, but it really gives added radiance and moisture. It’s fast absorbing, feels light-weight and isn’t greasy at all. Just to be extra, I like to use this step to massage my face a little, stimulating blood flow and to help to slow down aging. Yes I’m only 20 but I like to think ahead ok.

Grace’s verdict:

‘I’m usually a bit of a novice with my approach to my skincare routine – I wash with a face scrub, cleanse and moisturise but that’s about it. I tried Georgie’s routine for 3 days to see if I noticed any difference. However the only product I didn’t use out of her routine was an SPF – this was mainly because my foundation has an SPF of 15 already, and the fact I live in the North of England, so sun at  the moment is a rarity.

Although Georgie’s routine was slightly more time consuming than my own, after testing it I definitely noticed my skin felt softer and visibly made the finish of my base make-up smoother. Using a spritz toner was a really nice addition to my morning routine, I felt like it added extra hydration – although I was skeptical of this step before, I’ve now added it into my own morning routine. I also found using a face serum in my PM routine helped replenish my skin so much more than using moisturiser alone. After a long day and wearing a full face of make-up it really helped my skin, and controlled break outs a bit better.
Although this routine might not work for everyone, it should be noted that me and Georgie have quite different skin types and have both received positive results from this routine.’

So there is my extensive round-up of my skincare regime. These products and approaches work fabulously for me, however it is a given that skincare is different for everyone. For things that I would advise you to avoid, read this post. Let me know if you have any skin-saving tips or personal holy-grail products, I’d love to hear your opinions.

Thanks for reading!

2016-04-27 (3)

Leave a Reply

